Buffalo Common Council Finance Committee·September 8, 2026
Nearly two hours and almost nothing recommended. Members learned from the media that the administration has approached the state control board about borrowing; the deputy comptroller said the Comptroller found out the same way. Fitch cut the city to A, negative. Tabled: a $2 million building study, bike-lane design, two BURA jobs. Recommended: a $2.21 million summer-youth payroll amendment (900 hired).
The first item on the docket was the Comptroller's annual Estimate and Report, a document about capital debt that is required by the City Charter every August 1 and is normally received without incident. Deputy Comptroller Delano Dow[*] read the headline figures: $387 million in open capital projects, $82.2 million authorized by bond resolution but never borrowed, $45.9 million in unspent bond proceeds sitting idle — “several of these projects have remained inactive for more than five years” — a $36 million borrowing cap for 2027 and $216 million over five years, plus about $77.6 million the city expects to issue for the school district at a 97 percent state reimbursement rate. Then University District Councilmember Rasheed Wyatt asked whether the Comptroller's office knew anything about the city “looking to the BFSA for borrowing.”
It did not. “The Comptroller was not aware of the administration looking for the BFSA to borrow,” the deputy said. “She found out about this over the weekend, probably like a lot of everybody else.” He then made the Comptroller's case against it: a press account had put the savings from letting the Buffalo Fiscal Stability Authority borrow on the city's behalf at about $200,000, but the authority costs the city “a little under a million dollars a year,” its enabling legislation sunsets in 2037, and any bond running longer than eleven years would need Albany to extend the authority's life — at another million a year for every year it stays. “So we're looking at savings of $200,000 a year, or we're looking at savings of a million dollars a year.” The interest-rate difference between the authority and the city, he said, “is not that big.”
Wyatt turned to the dais. “Madam Majority Leader, did you know anything about the administration going to the BFSA for borrowing?” She did not. “The leadership doesn't know, we don't know, we find things out over and over again through the media,” he said. “You can't apologize enough to me, because you keep showing me that we don't matter.” Niagara District's David Rivera asked the presiding member whether the chair of the Finance Committee had been notified; the answer was a qualified yes — a letter from the BFSA itself that raised the idea “in a little bit of a roundabout way,” followed by a sit-down with the Commissioner of Administration and Finance, who confirmed the transaction would require a Council vote. The last time the Council did anything like it, the presiding member said, was 2007, by a certificate that came to the floor. “Simply because you need Council approval,” Rivera answered, “means, hey, we'll just wait till the last minute and then we'll call the media.” It is, he said, “going on nine months now.”
Majority Leader Leah Halton-Pope counted her own meetings with the mayor since January: “maybe three times,” none of them about the budget. “This is my third year and my third mayor, and this would be the first time I have never sat with the mayor as part of a leadership team.” Her recommendation to colleagues was to “remember our chartered abilities and responsibility, and lean on that heavily going forward.” North District's Joseph Golombek recalled that during “that horrible Brown administration when nothing went right,” he never found out about city business from the newspaper, and asked the question no one answered: “What will this council do about it?” Lovejoy's Bryan Bollman said the option of borrowing through the authority “has always been there,” and that the Council had chosen not to use it for exactly the reasons the deputy comptroller gave.
Rivera closed the discussion by turning some of the criticism back on the Comptroller's office, which he said had not been “very helpful” in going to the bond market for reimbursable school projects while the city spends “hundreds of thousands of dollars in court litigating.” The deputy comptroller started to answer that the office had gone to market for every school project that arrived with proper documentation — and was cut off, because by then the committee had voted to table the report and moved on to Item 2. “I didn't get an opportunity to respond,” he said, and went on to the Fitch downgrade.
Committee: Eight of nine council members were recorded present — Nowakowski (Fillmore), Bollman (Lovejoy), Everhart (Masten), Halton-Pope (Ellicott), Golombek (North), Rivera (Niagara), Scanlon (South) and Wyatt (University). Council President Joel Feroleto (Delaware) was absent. Scanlon arrived during Item 4, roughly 38 minutes in. The presiding member is addressed only as “Mr. Chair” on the recording (Editor's Note).
Administration and staff heard: the Deputy Comptroller; the Chief Information Officer; DPW's senior deputy commissioner and the City Engineer; a Buffalo Police Department representative; the commissioner responsible for the summer youth program; Deputy Mayor Thomas Baines[*]; the chief financial officer of the Buffalo Urban Renewal Agency.
Not heard: the second deputy mayor Wyatt had expected on the $2 million building study (“He'll be in this afternoon”); the DPW commissioner (“out today”; in depositions the previous week).
Public speakers: none. Committee meetings take no public comment.
The Buffalo Fiscal Stability Authority is the state-created control board that has overseen the city's finances since 2003 — a “hard” control period at first, an advisory one since 2012. Its board is appointed by the Governor and legislative leaders, not elected in Buffalo, and its operating cost is charged to the city; the deputy comptroller put that at just under $1 million a year. The idea reported in the press is that the authority, which carries its own credit rating, could sell bonds and pass the proceeds to the city more cheaply than the city can borrow in its own name after two downgrades. The Comptroller's objection is arithmetic and structural: the claimed saving is a fraction of the annual cost, and because the authority's statute expires in 2037, a 15-year bond sold through it would require the Legislature to keep the control board alive past its sunset — the opposite of what most of the council members in the room said they want. Nothing was voted on; the borrowing itself is not yet before the Council.
Item 2 was the July report from Fitch Ratings, and the deputy comptroller read it straight: the city's bond rating “changed from A+ to A, and outlook remains negative.” The cause, in Fitch's words as he relayed them, was “consecutive years of operating deficits and reductions to unrestricted fund balance.” The trigger for a further cut is a sustained slide in unrestricted general-fund reserves below 5 percent of spending; the path back to a stable outlook is keeping them above it. “In so many words,” he said, “if the city's finances continue to deplete” and the budget keeps leaning on fund balance and one-shot revenue “it could lead to another downgrade.” He then said the quiet part: the current budget carries roughly $50 to 55 million in non-recurring revenue “that we might not have in fiscal year 28 to balance the budget.”
Wyatt asked how the rating process works. Each time the city goes to market, the deputy said, the agencies send 10 to 15 questions; the Comptroller's office, the administration and the school district each answer their share, then sit on one call with the analysts, who take the answers to an internal committee. The city does not learn the outcome on the call. Wyatt suggested the Finance Committee chair be included on those calls — “not that we'd have any input, but the information” — because, he said, “I'm sitting there scratching my head like, how did we not get a downgrade when we didn't have money, and we still don't have money?” The explanations of recent weeks, he allowed, “made a little bit of sense. Let me put it that way.” Tabled.
Buffalo's committees do not decide anything; they recommend to the full Common Council, which acts at its next regular session. Three outcomes recur in this record. Rec. Approve means the committee is telling the Council to adopt the item. Without Recommendation sends the item to the Council floor with no committee position at all — on Tuesday it was used as a one-week hold: “send this without recommendation so that we have it and then we can approve it next week,” once a missing contract or report arrives. Tabled keeps the item in committee; it does not go to the floor until someone moves to take it up again. The Comptroller's reports, the rating reports and the correspondence in the “Tabled Items” section are routinely tabled meeting after meeting because they are informational — there is nothing to approve. But the four new items tabled Tuesday — the $2 million building study, the bike-lane design contract, the BURA positions and the discretionary-funding resolution — were tabled because members wanted answers first. Those are the ones to watch on September 22.
The Department of Public Works asked permission to hire an architecture and engineering firm for $2 million of citywide master planning — a conditions assessment of more than 200 city buildings and four million square feet, producing budget numbers for years one through three, a 15-year spending plan, and scanned, documented buildings in current software. DPW's senior deputy commissioner, Marie Crown[*], in what the majority leader noted was her first committee appearance since starting in March, made the case bluntly: a moderate capital-and-maintenance budget runs about $9 per square foot per year; the city has been spending $4 to $4.50. “Essentially, we've been putting lipstick on pigs, and it's time to take the lipstick off and look at the actual conditions in front of us.” Eight firms responded to the RFP. The preferred one thinks it can finish in two years; she budgeted four.
The discussion went badly for the request almost immediately. Wyatt asked where the deputy mayor was — the Council had been told in caucus he would present the item — and was told he would be in at one o'clock. “We're not talking about this at one o'clock. We're talking about it now.” He objected to spending $2 million analyzing buildings in the same season the city ended bulk-trash pickup and raised the user fee and taxes: “We want to help heartbeats, not just buildings.” Bollman asked who the vendor was, what the deliverable was, and whether this was the same $2 million the Council set aside in the ARPA plan for a study of city assets. The answers: a preliminary selection had been made but would not be disclosed “until such time as the team is hired”; the deliverable is the spending plan; and the ARPA studies — community centers, senior centers, some park buildings — “will be folded in here.” Pressed by President Pro Tempore Zeneta Everhart for the name, the deputy commissioner gave it: Architectural Resources[*], “preliminarily selected by a committee.”
Halton-Pope wanted to know what happened to the first $2 million. “I can get back to you on that spending. I don't have that information in front of me.” Rivera asked when the city last did an engineering plan of its buildings, how many of the 200 are for sale, and whether the study would spend money assessing buildings the city intends to unload; none of that was available either. The majority leader's conclusion was that the item should not even go without recommendation: “I think we table this, and so we have a real discussion with leadership and our finance chair.” Tabled, unanimously, at 58:04 on the recording.
City Engineer Alex Buller[*] asked to hire CPL for Phase 2 of the Bicycle Facility Master Plan — a federal-aid project (PIN 5764.46), 80 percent reimbursable with the local share from CHIPS: $172,000 for design and about $700,000 federal for construction. The two corridors are West Delavan Avenue between Chapin Parkway and Main Street and Kensington Avenue from Fillmore Avenue to Comstock Avenue, both “catalyst projects” from the 2016 bike master plan. He acknowledged Everhart's earlier concerns about a church on Kensington and said outreach would be part of design. Asked when the community was last engaged, he said “probably about ten years ago.”
That answer cost the item. “Ten years ago is insane to even say,” Everhart said; “a lot of people don't even live over there anymore.” She wants community meetings before a firm is hired, not during design, and cited a pocket park DPW “popped up in the middle of two houses” in her district this year without a word to her office (the street name is not recoverable from the recording — Editor's Note). “No one calls the mayor's office. They do not call DPW. They call the nine of us.” Halton-Pope, whose Ellicott District now straddles Main Street, noted that redistricting has redrawn the map since 2016 and that her constituents east of Main “care less about bike lanes” than those west of it; she asked for the 2016 plan and its public comments, “because if there's some people who've been here the whole time and they've been supportive, then that supports your argument. But without it, it's kind of empty.” Tabled “until another discussion is had.”
A Buffalo Police Department representative (his surname is not intelligible on the recording) handled Items 6 through 10. The Cheektowaga firing range agreement is another one-year renewal, July 1, 2026 to June 30, 2027, of the arrangement the department has used since it left the lead-contaminated range at 74 Franklin Street; officers qualify on duty, not on overtime, and Cheektowaga — a department about a fifth Buffalo's size — is “very accommodating.” Rivera, who said he supported building the city's own range through the last round of “militarizing” criticism and still does, asked about lead exposure at the Cheektowaga facility. “It's actually an outdoor range, sir.” Halton-Pope asked why a contract that began July 1 reached the Council in September when the last committee day was July 28; no answer was available. The bond-funded range project itself, the representative said, is being re-examined by Commissioner Shields[*] after the department went to the Legislature to change its location. Without recommendation.
The Peacemakers contract, with the Back to Basics[*] organization, renews at $150,000, unchanged for years; the department has dropped a 10 percent administrative fee, worth about $15,000. Wyatt called the amount “crumbs off the table” for a group with “the intel that you all don't have,” and said forfeiture money that once flowed to community groups no longer does — “when I put the request in, they just kind of laughed at me.” Halton-Pope corrected one point (the contract is in the budget, not forfeiture-funded) and made a general demand: every organization the city funds should file monthly deliverables. She also noted the string of July 1 contracts arriving in September — “which says to me that we probably didn't pay attention to some things early on.” Without recommendation.
Items 8, 9 and 10 — Berla Corporation and LeadsOnline as sole sources and Insight Public Sector as a single source — are hardware and software bought under the state's Targeted Reduction in Intimate Partner Violence grant for the department's digital-evidence unit, working with Special Victims. Under a warrant or consent, the tools extract data from phones, car infotainment systems and smartwatches to corroborate one of two conflicting accounts in an order-of-protection case. No questions. All three recommended for approval, along with Item 11, an add-services amendment to contract 93003679 that was moved with them.
Two council members made the same request twice each on Tuesday, of different departments: show us the outcomes. Wyatt wants two years of results from the Police Athletic League's Building Better Readers program before the Council renews it — “we can't keep giving money to things that don't work” — and asked why, if the city's reading programs are as good as advertised, “eighth graders are going to high school not reading.” Halton-Pope wants the contract itself, which was not in the packet, and standing monthly reports from every funded organization, on the model of a state grant. The PAL item went without recommendation so the contract can be produced by next week. It was the third item of the morning held for a document members had not seen; the Tyler Technologies item was the first.
The one substantive item the committee sent forward with a clean recommendation was the Summer Youth Payroll Administrator contract amendment, listed in the city's file at $2,210,402.20. Commissioner Danielle Roberts[*] explained what it bought: the budget covered about 600 hires, and last summer the program employed 605; with additional funding approved this year it hired 900, out of roughly 1,100 applications. Because the added money is opioid-settlement funding, the program had to add a drug-prevention component — the Prevention Council of Western New York[*] worked with participants over the six-week summer — and 100 of the 300 additional youth will stay on for ten months, September to June, meeting monthly with three vocational counselors (formerly mental-health counselors) on workforce development, civic engagement and social-emotional development, with a stipend and a bus pass good outside school hours.
Wyatt asked what data shows city youth are abusing drugs. “The research and studies show that workforce development prevents drug use,” the commissioner said; “this is prevention.” He then raised a fairness problem he hears from families: a household with two or three children who apply the day applications open gets one job, while a family that applies months later also gets one. The commissioner said the one-per-family rule is deliberate, exceptions are made for hardship, siblings are rotated year to year, and Buffalo's application deadline is intentionally set before Erie County's so unsuccessful applicants can be referred there. Halton-Pope thanked her for restoring the vocational counselors the Council asked about at budget time and for bringing “an actual agreement with details in it” — then reminded the room that $200,000 in youth and anti-violence funding was swept from the budget this spring on a promise it could be replaced, and asked that it be restored next cycle. Recommended for approval, unanimously.
Golombek filed the letter that became Item 14 after Deputy Mayor Thomas Baines[*] called him “a week and a half or so ago” about restructuring the Buffalo Urban Renewal Agency. He is fine with restructuring. He is not fine with $379,200 for two new positions — about $284,000 of it salary — in an agency whose money he wants “out on the street.” “In 14207, the bulk of my zip code where I live, the median income is about $35,000, and we're creating jobs for people that are way, way over the amount of money that residents in my district make. I think the appearance is just absolutely horrendous.” A house on his side of town needs demolition, he added — “hint, hint” — and the building inspector was there that day.
BURA's chief financial officer, Tracy Cooley (the city's file lists her as T. Cooley), said the money is CDBG administrative funding, within HUD's 20 percent admin cap. The city's Audit division used to do about $250,000 a year of entitlement-fund work; when BURA absorbed it the money sat unused for a program year and has now been reallocated to BURA for the two positions, salary and fringe. The agency is “down to about 30 employees.” Halton-Pope established that the change is budget-neutral to the city, then asked the harder question: what happens to these people if federal entitlement funding shrinks? The deputy mayor's answer was candid — BURA is in the same position as the housing authority, it forecasts as best it can, and a cut “could ultimately result in some layoffs.” She also asked, as she said she has had to keep asking, for regular reports on which districts and zip codes get roofs repaired and down-payment help.
The deputy mayor then explained the positions. One is an executive director: BURA currently runs on two senior directors and no chief, which “inherently inserts someone from the administration” into day-to-day decisions “where we should not be”; the agency had an executive director from 2015 to 2018, and a $100,000 organizational study in 2019 recommended a single point of authority. The other is human resources, now outsourced at $60,000 a year. Golombek was unmoved: he would rather “take the chance on losing the admin dollars” and put them into programs like the roof and home-repair work in his district, and recalled a period when the city and BURA together were spending 18 to 21 percent on administration against a lower cap. “I'm not going to defend it, because it would be impossible to defend.” Tabled.
Item 15, sponsored by six of the nine members, is a resolution “Clarifying the Authority of the Common Council Regarding Discretionary Funding” — the neighborhood-initiative money each district office directs. Halton-Pope, its lead sponsor, said the Council has spent “two years and nine months” in a back-and-forth with the Comptroller's office over what those funds may pay for, and that she and Everhart inherited unresolved expenditures going back to 2016 when they took office. The resolution recites the charter: Section 3-7 vests legislative power in the Council; Section 20-8 lets it add, strike and reduce budget lines; Section 7-4 and Code Sections 16-9 and 60-10 give the Comptroller independent authority to audit claims and confirm appropriations exist; Article VIII, Section 1 of the State Constitution bars gifts of public money to private parties. Its operative point is that discretionary funding “cannot meaningfully operate as discretionary funding if substantive limitations” on otherwise lawful spending “are created administratively” without a source in the charter, code or state or federal law — and that rules adopted in one year cannot be applied retroactively to money spent under earlier rules. “Tell us where we cannot spend those funds,” she said. “This wasn't an attack at all on the Comptroller” — a text she received during an earlier discussion suggested some had read it that way.
Rivera put it more sharply: “Absent the law, the discretion falls on the Common Council. It doesn't fall on the Comptroller's office — or else it's her prerogative, it's her discretion, and that's where we want to draw the line.” Comptroller's staff were in the room and were not called on. Halton-Pope said that because the resolution touches no other office's powers it needs no referendum, deferring to the Law Department on the point, and then moved to table it — leaving it in committee for the discussion “my colleagues” may want. The motion to adjourn followed at 1:59:17 on the recording.
Chief Information Officer Darrell Springer[*] called Item 3 “simply paperwork catch-up”: permission to piggyback a Sourcewell cooperative contract with Tyler Technologies for a software-as-a-service agreement moving the city's Munis financial system to the cloud, for security and uptime. Halton-Pope had read it. “This agreement is hereby made this blank day of blank month in 2026” — was that intentional? (The dates get filled in on execution.) More to the point, the contract merges “all prior understandings, agreements, correspondence and discussions of the parties” into itself; she wants to see those before she votes on them. Without recommendation, to be approved next week once the CIO files the prior agreements.
The city's recorded vote file (CivicClerk items and summary minutes) is the source for every disposition below; the recording is cross-checked against it. Every recorded vote was 8–0 with the same eight members voting yes — Nowakowski, Bollman, Everhart, Halton-Pope, Golombek, Rivera, Scanlon, Wyatt — and Feroleto absent. Every motion was moved by Majority Leader Halton-Pope and seconded by Bollman or Everhart. On the recording, motions are by voice with no tally announced. Docket numbers are the city's (26-000NNN). Timecodes are recording positions. Where the record and the tape disagree, the row says so.
Item 1, 26-000309. $387M open capital projects; $82.2M authorized/unissued; $45.9M unspent bond proceeds ($42.2M available, $3.8M contracted); 2027 debt cap $36M; five-year aggregate $216M; $77.6M anticipated school-district debt at 97% state reimbursement; city $1.8B under its constitutional debt limit. Discussion turned entirely to the administration's reported approach to the Buffalo Fiscal Stability Authority about borrowing; the Comptroller's office learned of it over the weekend. Presiding member: a BFSA letter and a meeting with the Commissioner of Administration and Finance indicate a Council vote would be required, as in 2007. Record vs. tape: the record lists Scanlon voting yes; on the recording he is announced as arriving at 43:50, after this vote.
Item 2, 26-000312. Cause: consecutive operating deficits and reduced unrestricted fund balance. Downgrade trigger: reserves sustained below 5% of general-fund spending. Deputy comptroller: $50–55M of non-recurring revenue in the current budget may not be available for FY28. Wyatt asked that the Finance chair join rating-agency calls. Record vs. tape: Scanlon recorded yes; not yet present on the recording.
Item 3, 26-000282. Held one week so the CIO can file the “prior understandings, agreements, correspondence and discussions” the contract merges into itself, and an executed copy with dates. Record vs. tape: Scanlon recorded yes; not yet present on the recording.
Item 4, 26-000209. 200+ buildings, 4M sq ft; years 1–3 budget numbers, 15-year spending plan, digital documentation; two to four years; eight RFP respondents. Tabled after members could not learn the vendor from the packet, the deputy mayor did not appear, and no one could account for the earlier $2M ARPA facilities-assessment allocation. Scanlon announced present at 43:50, during this item. Flagged for dollar magnitude and the unanswered questions.
Item 5, 26-000240. Tabled “until another discussion is had” after the City Engineer said the last community engagement was about ten years ago. Everhart wants neighborhood meetings before a firm is hired; Halton-Pope wants the 2016 plan and its public comments.
Item 6, 26-000322. Continuation of the arrangement used since the department left 74 Franklin Street. Outdoor range; officers qualify on duty. Halton-Pope asked why a July 1 contract arrived in September; answer promised. The city's item title carries the date “9/15/26 F” although it sat on the September 8 docket.
Item 7, 26-000321. Wyatt: the amount has been stagnant for years and is “crumbs off the table.” Halton-Pope: the contract is budgeted, and every funded organization should report deliverables monthly.
Items 8, 9, 10, 11 — 26-000315, 26-000316, 26-000317, 26-000311. Hardware and software used by the department's digital-evidence unit with Special Victims to extract data from phones, vehicle infotainment systems and smartwatches under a warrant or consent. On the recording, Item 8 was voted alone, Item 9 was closed and approved in one motion, and Items 10 and 11 were approved together; the record enters four separate 8–0 votes, all moved Halton-Pope and seconded Everhart (8) or Bollman (9, 10, 11).
Item 12, 26-000365. About 1,100 applications. Drug-prevention component required by the funding source; three vocational counselors; monthly meetings, stipend and bus pass for the 100 retained. Wyatt raised the one-job-per-family rule against early applicants; Halton-Pope asked that $200,000 in youth/anti-violence funds swept at budget time be restored next cycle. Flagged as the meeting's largest approved dollar figure.
Item 13, 26-000366. The contract was not in the packet; Halton-Pope wants it before next week. Wyatt wants two years of outcomes. No amount was stated on the recording.
Item 14, 26-000378 (attachment: “T Cooley Misc.”). Deputy Mayor Baines[*] and BURA CFO Cooley appeared. Funding: roughly $250,000/yr in entitlement work formerly done by the city's Audit division, reallocated within HUD's 20% admin cap; budget-neutral to the city; layoffs possible if federal entitlement funding falls. Golombek opposed the salaries; Halton-Pope asked for regular district-level program reports. Flagged for the dispute.
Item 15, 26-000395. Recites Charter §§3-7, 20-8, 7-4, Code §§16-9, 60-10 and State Constitution Art. VIII §1; asserts that limits on discretionary spending must have a source in law and cannot be applied retroactively; disclaims any effect on the Comptroller's audit authority. Tabled by its lead sponsor for further discussion.
Items 16–64, 26-000468 through 26-000593 (docket numbers in the minutes). The record enters a separate “Tabled” motion for each, moved Halton-Pope, seconded Everhart (Bollman on 16 and 18), 8 yes. Record vs. tape: none of these items is called, moved or voted on the recording; the meeting goes from Item 15 directly to adjournment. For 25 of the 49 (Items 17, 19, 20 and 27–64) the record does not state pass/fail (“→ ?”); the motion name is the outcome. Among the standing items: Moody's and S&P GO/BAN ratings (17, 18); Nowakowski's response to Moody's (20); correspondence on the sale of the city parking ramps (21); the Sewer Authority budget (29); Halton-Pope's request for BFSA assistance (30); an earlier capital budget (31); Wyatt's commuter-tax exploration (32); a resident's letter on nonfunctional street lights (34); Rivera's Grant Street complete-street priority between Hampshire and Forest (49); the FY2026 Discretionary Fund Policy (55); and the 2025–2029 Capital Debt Plan (62).
Moved by the majority leader, seconded by Everhart, immediately after the Item 15 table. Not entered as a numbered item in the record.
Capture. The City posted video of this meeting on its CivicClerk portal; audio was extracted and transcribed with the faster-whisper “medium” model. The recording opens with a countdown 5 minutes 38 seconds before the call to order and ends at adjournment, 1:59:22; the meeting itself ran about 114 minutes. Timecodes are recording positions, not clock time. Committee meetings take no public comment and none was offered.
Who presided. The recording never names the chair; members address him only as “Mr. Chair,” and the summary minutes do not list committee assignments. Every other male member present spoke from the floor as a member (Wyatt, Rivera, Golombek, Bollman; Scanlon arrived late), which points by elimination to Fillmore District Councilmember Nowakowski, but this brief describes him as the presiding member rather than assert an unverified title. Chairs are appointed by the Council President and are not printed in the committee minutes.
Record versus tape. Three discrepancies. (1) The city's vote record shows Councilmember Scanlon voting yes on Items 1, 2 and 3; on the recording the presiding member announces at 43:50, during Item 4, that “we have been joined by Councilmember Scanlon,” after those three votes. The record is reported as the record; the timing is noted in each row. (2) Items 16–64, the 49 standing tabled items, each carry a recorded 8–0 tabling motion, but none is called on the recording; the meeting adjourns directly after Item 15. The record for 25 of them does not state pass/fail. (3) The record lists Golombek as seconder on Item 15; the tape has Everhart. On Items 9–11 the tape shows two motions covering three items where the record enters three. The opening roll call is only partly intelligible (Nowakowski, Bollman, Golombek, Everhart, Wyatt); the minutes' attendance list is used.
Names. Council members are corrected against the verified roster (“Hulton Hope,” “Helton Pope” → Halton-Pope; “Galamba,” “Gullum back,” “Golembeck” → Golombek; “Bowman,” “Bullman,” “Pullman” → Bollman; “Ever heart,” “Bevor,” “Beper heart” → Everhart; “no Caskey” → Nowakowski). Entity names come from the city's items file (Tyler Technologies, Sourcewell, CPL, Berla Corporation, LeadsOnline, Insight Public Sector, Peacemakers, Police Athletic League, Buffalo Urban Renewal Agency). The official record names Comptroller Barbara Miller-Williams and Investment & Debt Management Officer Gregg Szymanski (heard as “Samansky”) on the Estimate and Report; neither spoke. Names that appear only in audio carry [*] and should be verified before quoting: the Deputy Comptroller (heard as “Delano Dow”; the surname may be truncated), CIO Darrell Springer, DPW senior deputy commissioner Marie Crown, City Engineer Alex Buller, Commissioner Danielle Roberts, Deputy Mayor Thomas Baines (heard as “Baines”/“Bang's”), Police Commissioner Shields, the absent deputy mayor (heard as “Swannekamp”), and the vendor Architectural Resources. BURA's CFO is “T. Cooley” in the record; “Tracy” is from audio. The police department's representative gave a name the recording does not render usably; he is identified by role. “Ryan administration” is as spoken by Councilmember Golombek; the mayor is not otherwise named on the tape. A former Lovejoy councilmember and a former Council President are invoked in passing and are not named here.
Streets. The street check validated Fillmore Avenue and Kensington Avenue; West Delavan Avenue (heard once as “Delevingne”), Chapin Parkway, Main Street, Comstock Avenue, Franklin Street, Shoreham Parkway, Rebecca Park, Grant Street, Hampshire Street and Forest Avenue were confirmed manually against the index. The street where Everhart said a park appeared between two houses is heard as “Stephen Street,” which is not in the city index (Stevens Avenue is the nearest match); it is left unnamed. The address Golombek said needs demolition is not recoverable from the recording. Cheektowaga is a town, not a Buffalo street; Whisper's “cheek to waga” and “chiquitua” are corrected.
Figures. Dollar figures are as spoken unless the items file supplies one: the summer youth amount ($2,210,402.20) comes from the city's attachment title, not the tape. The BFSA's annual cost and the $200,000 savings figure are the Deputy Comptroller's characterizations. The $379,200 and ~$284,000 BURA figures are Golombek's. No amount was stated for the PAL contract or the Tyler Technologies agreement. The interests watchlist was checked against every entity, address and person on the docket; no match. The scanner entity database was not consulted for this brief.